Lorena

Lorena first came to see me in 2007 when she was 69. She had varifocals but she only used them sometimes for reading. She could see 6/6 on the distance chart but found reading small print harder. She was reading 12 point text with not much difference between the eyes. After some sunning, palming, nosecard and colouring in at our first session she was reading 3 letter sizes smaller and was one away from the smallest on my chart. Her left eye was a little clearer than the right.

Lorena came to see me every 3-6 months for 8 years. She came for general maintenance when other health issues came and went. She came to check in about her eyesight. This varied too and she went through periods when she had bits of visual disturbance with an impbalance between the eyes developing for a time.

In our sessions we would talk a bit about her vision and do some practical work. She had experienced good vision and could access it. In one session doing shifting work with the chart brought her 2 more lines of clarity.

In 2012, 5 years after she first came and at age 74 she was still easily reading the tiny print without glasses, much better than when she first came. At one of our last sessions she was noticing more blur in the distance. She said that palming helped to clear that.

Lorena passed away this year and is sadly missed by me and many others. I am grateful to have had the chance to work with her. She used natural vision work in an ideal way, to maintain and support her good vision.

Lorena once said to me, “I like palming. I like the way I see better after it too. There is such an obvious change in how much more I can see.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment